PDA

View Full Version : HELP NEEDED: closeup hi-res rock / stone pit

phleX
04-03-2012, 06:52 PM
Hello,

I need to render a vertical wall of rock like in a stone pit respectively a cuboid of rock seen from a frontal perspective. It's not a pile of rocks but one big solid rock with some cracks, creases, etc.

The image has to be photoreal and very hi-res, about 10k. The rock will be about 10m long.

I posted almost the same thread in the Vue forum, as I first thought Vue might be the right tool. I'm not very experienced in Vue, though, and I didn't come up with an efficient way to do this (I'm able to create a mountain terrain in Vue but this one's different).
At the moment I'm trying ZBrush but I have no experience with that, either. I'm afraid it would take me days for sculpting...

Like always it has to be done quick but I don't have a clue, which tool would be the most suitable for the task, so I thought, I'd ask if anyone is experienced with that kind of stuff and point me in the right direction.

At work I have Maya, Mudbox, ZBrush and Vue at my disposal.

Thanks, phleX

NightOwl3D
04-03-2012, 09:47 PM
Hi phleX,

If it just has to look like any old rock then I would go out with a nice digital camera a take a few pictures of the type of rock you need to model. Then from those pictures I would import a few into mudbox as a stencil and use that as a base for your sculpting. You'll get quite a decent look of creases and roughness along the surface which is a good starting point to add more detail using mudbox's usual sculpting tools. You can also use those pictures to project textures onto the rock.

phleX
04-03-2012, 10:44 PM
Thanks for the tip!

I just tried something similar.
I took some bump maps of stock rock textures that looked promising and used them as brush alpha in ZBrush.
Unfortunately the result isn't very pleasing.