PDA

View Full Version : Cintiq worth all the money?

UniqueCharacter
03-25-2012, 11:31 PM
Hello, I posted a thread in matte painting and got some good feedback from it (link) (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=196&t=1041479),

I am a struggling college graduate. I have spent the past seven years learning various 3D techniques. I've gotten some freelance work, but no long term career yet. I currently make close-to minimum wage doing manufacturing full time. I am thinking of going in a different direction with my art by going back to illustration. I got a decent amount back from my tax returns and just wanted to give my background so you can understand how much $2600 is to someone like me. I am pretty good at illustration and computer graphics. I have a Wacom Intuos 3 tablet and it's been well worth the money. The only issue I have with it is that it isn't very easy to just draw something the first time, because I have to constantly redo the stroke because I am drawing while looking up at the screen. I used the Wacom Cintiq in college and liked it fine for drawing stuff. It was pretty useless for anything else though. With the advance of tablets and the Ipad, as well as tablet-laptops, I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions and if the Wacom Cintiq 24hd is worth the sacrifice of $2600 if I am a decent illustrator?

Also, I was looking at the HP EliteBook 2760p as an alternative. The screen is pretty small, and I'm not sure how many pressure levels the touch screen gives.

Thanks everyone!

LuminusTytus
03-25-2012, 11:52 PM
Hello, I posted a thread in matte painting and got some good feedback from it (link) (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=196&t=1041479),