PDA

View Full Version : Hardware: Maya performance on G5


ristopuukko
11-19-2003, 05:04 PM
since there doesn't seem to be different Maya Hardware - forum I'm asking here:

is there anyone with experiences how Maya performes on mac G5 ?

I'm doing both 3D and 2D work and I'm very interested in
G5 because of its impressive rendering performance with prman
and overall 2D performance.
Since the G4 did not perform (excuse me for saying this out loud)
at all in opengl, I've been trying to find some tests on G5 with Maya

how about it ??

regards,

risto

dmeyer
11-20-2003, 12:24 PM
Check out Mark Wilkin's thread on G5 Maya performace.

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=90691

ristopuukko
11-20-2003, 01:27 PM
thank you dmeyer

I'll be watching this

/risto

mixtus
11-22-2003, 10:28 AM
my school just ugraded 20 computers from G4 to G5 with maya 5.0 // maya actually seems to run a little worse -- not sure why // but i think the g5 may need some tweeking. You would think the G5's would make a huge difference - but i have not seen it at all.

ristopuukko
11-22-2003, 05:17 PM
Originally posted by mixtus
my school just ugraded 20 computers from G4 to G5 with maya 5.0 // maya actually seems to run a little worse -- not sure why // but i think the g5 may need some tweeking. You would think the G5's would make a huge difference - but i have not seen it at all.

I have to repeat the same thing that was told to me:


check out this thread

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=90691

regards,

risto

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.