PDA

View Full Version : How important is a 'relevant' degree?

BoldPanda
03-10-2012, 12:29 AM
Hey, not sure if I'm posting this in the right area, but here goes..

I did a degree in a more general computing/multimedia subject. I got a decent grade (a high 2.1) and was exposed through 3 modules, to 3d modelling, texture, lighting, and some animation and fell in love. I had been playing around with 3ds max since high school but those modules provided me with my first real opportunity to produce something and learn how to use the program to a higher level.

Now I've for a variety of reasons I've had to work doing whatever I could to stay where I currently live, and have been trying to use what little spare time I had to keep improving and learning 3ds max, and photoshop...but have also been working in maya and a few other programs to try to keep improving my knowledge. I have also spent a short period with a small VFX company in a 'runner' type role, but was lucky enough to do some texturing, lighting and some compositing work during my time there. I am now in a position to be able to actually start seriously working towards what I want to do, and that is work in the VFX industry.

Now my question is (and sorry for not getting to the point sooner), do I need to go and get more qualifications that provide a more focused education in this area? For example returning to university to do an masters. Or would it be possible for me to continue to work and attempt to produce a reel and get in based on that + the prositives of having my current degree? Does it matter that it isn't one

I've tried to read up on this as much as possible and so far it seems that everyone has a slightly different opinion, but I don't want to invest even further in education that might not make my chances of entering the industry any better.

Thanks for any info and advice!

If this is in the wrong place then please let me know where I can maybe repost it!

mr Bob
03-11-2012, 12:35 AM