PDA

View Full Version : Paint Texture tool question


zaipha
06-11-2002, 05:36 PM
I have a question about the paint texture tool

Is there a way I can lets say, paint the bump and then somehow have it still be visible so that I can paint the diffuse area on top of it, and to still see my bump until i paint over it?

THX

Help me Texture gods!

Z

kheemo
06-11-2002, 05:50 PM
not sure if I can help here..but what software are you using ?

in photoshop you could use the bump you did on a layer in multiply ..and on another layer paint on top of it..save both layers as a different files..

zaipha
06-11-2002, 05:57 PM
I'm using maya.

kheemo
06-11-2002, 06:01 PM
ok ..I dont think you can paint that straight in Maya if its what you meant ,,, but Deep Paint does that.,., its compatible Maya and the demo is free to download..

zaipha
06-11-2002, 07:00 PM
I can paint textures straight on in maya using the paint texture tool.

btw can anyone tell me what resolution a high quality texture should be? I mean what size? you cant affect the dpi can you?

thx

z

leigh
06-14-2002, 11:56 AM
Well, unfortunately, I know NOTHING about texturing in Maya :p
But with regards to texture size - DPI doesn't really count, as computers and TVs only display in 72dpi anyway. Actually, monitors and TVs display in lines.... but you get the idea.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.