PDA

View Full Version : graphical programming

halogenic139
11-19-2003, 12:08 AM
hey guys, i came here looking for some advice...

i am a fairly proficient cg artist, and a user of alias's maya. I've experimented with everything, and found that my greatest interest is in particles and dynamic effects in general.

I used to do a little programming with visual basic many years ago, and I really love it.

So now I want to start to learn more about programming, but specifically graphical programming, so I can use to to help with creating effects or shaders, etc. (i hear things about people writing their own shaders, how is this done? is it with c++ or some other language?)

I've worked with MEL a little bit, and it seems like a very powerful tool for users of maya, but I think I might want to start learning c++.

now if i'm right, there are kind of 2 graphical mediums of using c++, directx and opengl. I've heard that directx is more modern and probably the wave to the future..so I think i'd like to start learing that as well.. or am i completely wrong about that whole idea.?

i'm just kindof rambling on about who-knows-what...but basically I really love 3d computer graphics but also really want to start programming, and am looking for how to start to inter-mix the two.

should i just buy visual c++ and start learning that? (by the way, i'm seeing 2 versions, vc++ v.40 embedded, and vc++ v.60? which is newer or are they 2 different things?

I really just don't know where to start, so maybe someone could point me to some info on the web, or if anyone feels compelled to lay down some words of advice, please do so, and if you've made it through my post thanks .

playmesumch00ns
11-19-2003, 08:30 AM
DirectX is windows only. OpenGL runs on just about any platform and has bindings for every language you can name.