PDA

View Full Version : Some concerns and regards about XSI of a Novice CG artist

KyuHevein
03-04-2012, 04:51 AM
Hello people,
Sorry , this is a bit long...
I am a Novice CG Artist that just graduated recently.
My school has been teaching me how to use Maya for the past four years,
but I have always been attracted to Softimage XSI and wanted to learn it.
Before actually setting foot into the program, I have decided to do some research,
and to be honest, I am a bit intimidated not just by the program itself, but also how it is being treated by the industry.

I want to talk about the software first. Modeling in XSI seems to rely on curves a lot. (my tutorial sources: Experience in XSI 4, Digital Tutor's Introduction to Softimage 2012 and some other forum posts) As someone who barely uses curves(didn't mean NURBS, my bad), this frightens me a lot.
I understand that XSI is capable of mesh modeling like in Maya and 3ds Max, but it is not as fluent and effective in terms of modeling when in comparison, or so I have heard...

Another scary part of the software is probably the most popular ICE feature.
I have heard so many great things about it! But after doing much research, its seems to have a steep learning curve and takes a long time to actually enjoy using it. Some people do not even recommend switching to XSI just for ICE. But, I would like to hear from you all as well.

Now, to the industry aspect. After doing some career searches, most company seems to prefer using 3Ds MAX, Cinema 4D and Maya over XSI. And this does not really surprise me,
because I have already know that XSI has a smaller user community. But seeing how Autodesk treatment of Softimage, I am a bit concern now as well. (just read the other XSI concern thread in the board") Also, there are some posts in renown CG forum that talks about how Autodesk keeps strengthening ICE and disregard many of its bugs and other features/aspects. These are all from the XSI users themselves too.