PDA

View Full Version : Fluence in Digital Drawing

Takgrag
02-20-2012, 09:28 AM
Hello.. This is a last resort.
I am here , on the forum because I have hit rock bottom in digital drawing , not painting.
I have searched the internets , I have searched these forums , but I cannot find techniques for improving fluence in lines when using a graphic tablet.
I am an intermediate level traditional artist ( just pencil/papper ) and when hitting the papper , my lines are fluent , straight and look good.
But every time I touch the graphic tablet , my lines go crazy.
It is very different , as you know, you do not really have the friction between the tip of the pencil and papper on a tablet , and on a tablet , my lines lose fluence , straightness , and it looks like a 2 year olds first drawing.
I would be very gratefull if you could show me any exercises for resolving this problem , I am fully dedicated to this , mostly because it is frustrating. My head is full of conceptual ideas , but I cannot share it to the world in digital form.
Thank you in advance , and thank you for taking the time to read this.

tomylobo
02-21-2012, 07:43 AM
Cool to hear someone with the same problem!
I am not quite sure where does it come from, I won't say it's the friction (and depending on how you draw, you may want to simply try to add a ...paper sheet on your tablet, so if you draw like I do, with your hand resting on the paper, you will have more friction, but if you draw like a chinese calligrapher, it won't help)
I am not sure that it will improve a lot the quality, but you may have more feelings that you are used to.
About that problem I have an explanation, I think that watching the screen while your hand is trying to make a curve on the tablet is what makes it hard to get perfect results.(that need to be verified, with a Cintiq for example, but I don't have access to that kind of super hardware, a bit to pricey for me right now!)

Takgrag
02-21-2012, 10:06 AM