PDA

View Full Version : Help - shape deform and anim along spline


medula
11-17-2003, 08:39 PM
The image below (1) shows my set up, note that I'm using a plug-in (Multiple Spline Attach) that is supposed to deform the object along the path. The objects do receive deformation align the spine of the path but do not deform with the bank of the path (noted by the green lines).

I've emailed the author 8 days ago and he has not replied back to me. So I'm looking for another solution to the problem or someone else who might own this plug-in to help me solve this dilemma. I do not own the plug-in (I've been working in demo mode) since I have not determined if the plug-in is indeed the answer to my problem.

http://medulla.ambrosiasw.com/~marcus/images/screenshots/cgtalk/mobius_problem1.jpg


The image below shows how the direction I will be animating the object in. I need the objects to animate and deform along the path and stay true to the path.

http://medulla.ambrosiasw.com/~marcus/images/screenshots/cgtalk/mobius_problem2.jpg


I do own Jenna, and have tried to use it to do this, but it will not work (unless someone else knows different).


Any ideas?

flingster
11-17-2003, 09:06 PM
would tank tracks tut help ya
http://www.maxoncomputer.com/tutorial_detail.asp?tutorialID=256&site=
:shrug:

flingster
11-17-2003, 09:07 PM
also could try rail deform

AdamT
11-17-2003, 10:02 PM
Hi Medula,

Do you have enough subdivisions in the object and FFD to make the sharp bends?

medula
11-18-2003, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by AdamT
Do you have enough subdivisions in the object and FFD to make the sharp bends?

Adam,

Ya, I have that cranked to 128X128X128. I've tried higher but nothing changes it. I might be missing something else in the settings, but I could sweat I checked them all over and over.


Flingster,

I'll give XPresso a go in the morning and see if that yields the results I'm looking for.

medula
11-19-2003, 01:27 AM
Originally posted by AdamT
[B}Do you have enough subdivisions in the object and FFD to make the sharp bends? [/B]

Adam,

It turned out to be "use instances: was messing it up (in MSA). It didn't know how to interpolate the geometry since it was referencing an instance. :P




Flingster,

OMG, I have to learn that part of the program. That looks powerful, but a little daunting! :scream:

Thank you both!

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.