PDA

View Full Version : HARDCORE MODELING!: MASTER OF ANIME: Masamune Shirow: Character model

g3isha
02-14-2012, 09:45 PM
This is my first time doing a modeling challenge on CG society, so please bear with me! I've decided to do it like many of you, in hopes of improving my work and getting valuable critiques. I am a huge fan of Masamune Shirow's work... Ghost in the Shell is of course my favourite :) But I've decided to create a model inspired by Masamune's many female characters. I'd like to portray the same characteristics as he so often does in his images... strength, sexuality, technology, and spirituality. In this challenge I'll be focusing on Zbrush and my sculpting skills... and hopefully I'll get everything finished in time! :p

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j261/panzer_jager/MasamunsGirl.jpg

g3isha
02-15-2012, 01:48 AM
Progress so far. I used a base mesh I made last year... tweaked the proportions to suite the style I'm going for.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j261/panzer_jager/WIP1.jpg

g3isha
02-15-2012, 03:15 AM
Moving her into pose, not quite like my sketch yet!

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j261/panzer_jager/WIP_pose.jpg

Scote
02-15-2012, 10:25 PM
cool wip. can we see your topo?

g3isha
02-17-2012, 12:07 AM
Here is the topo on my model. I would like to retopologize it in Zbrush once it's finished, which I've never done before.... I've seen a few tutorials out there, but if anyone can recommend any great ones, please share! :)

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j261/panzer_jager/WIP_wire.jpg

g3isha
02-18-2012, 07:49 AM
Another update, didn't have time to work on it yesterday so I've been on it today. Began blocking some shapes for her clothes and posed her fingers.... arrrg I hate doing hands and fingers! :blush:

Unfortunately my base mesh has poles right on her cheeks and no matter how much I try to smooth them out, the points wont disappear :sad: Hopefully this will be solved when I retopologize?