PDA

View Full Version : Particle Paint accuracy - floating particles


ENSLAVER
02-10-2012, 01:08 AM
Hi, just wondering if anyone has enountered and overcome a particle paint issue where the particle seem to float/not be on the surface using particle paint.

max 2012 x64

When I scale the object up (100x) the particle seem to sit closer to the surface although not exactly on it (some above and some below).

Thanks.

ENSLAVER
02-10-2012, 02:16 AM
Some screenshots, the first is with a 30CM teapot. The second the teapot is 3,000 CM. I am guessing it's an accuracy or scale issue, but I haven't been able to resolve it by changing all the settings I can find. You can see with the 30cm teapot the particles are not on the surface at all, varying ~10cm above below.

http://i.imgur.com/zWACF.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/76oyF.jpg

Thanks

3ak
02-10-2012, 04:16 AM
Use spline mode. Freehand is a bit..mmm.. buggy.

JohnnyRandom
02-10-2012, 04:16 AM
Just add a lock and bond and choose the bonding object.

3ak
02-10-2012, 04:18 AM
Just add a lock and bond and choose the bonding object.

oops, thanks for this workaround)

JohnnyRandom
02-10-2012, 04:23 AM
You are right though birth paint is a bit wonky, it can be very useful but sometimes it has a mind of its own.

ENSLAVER
02-10-2012, 05:52 AM
Thanks, I will just work around it lol

ditziwill
09-16-2012, 11:24 AM
What do you mean by using a lock and bond method? I have this same problem and its driving me nuts

JohnnyRandom
09-20-2012, 04:36 PM
Add a Lock and Bond Test with the object you want to paint particles on and enable snap to surface. :)

CGTalk Moderation
09-20-2012, 04:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.