PDA

View Full Version : batch processing ? how to

progerik
11-16-2003, 12:38 PM
hi I would like to be able to batch process any given mel script to any given destination maya file
for instance I would like to be able to:
- apply a script to "20" maya files without the need to open the files one by one ,
- apply the script ,
- save the file.
so my question is : is there allready a mel script or utility program that let me do that out there ? otherwise what would be the best way to script such command,
any help would be greatly appriciated :)

Doogie
11-16-2003, 07:32 PM
Opening, closing and saving are all MEL commands in Maya. Check the MEL Command Reference for the "file" command

progerik
11-16-2003, 10:34 PM
thanks doogie ,
anyone could help in more details in what might be the best approached to writte such script , sorry I am a novice :(
thanks in advance

Doogie
11-16-2003, 11:12 PM
Normally I think of teaching (and the use of forums) as a guide for you to learn for yourself. But here's pretty much a verbatim example:

file -type "mayaAscii" -open "D:/projects/HomeProjects/scenes/New Folder/file1.ma";
// execute your script
file -save;

file -type "mayaAscii" -open "D:/projects/HomeProjects/scenes/New Folder/file2.ma";
// execute your script
file -save;

file -type "mayaAscii" -open "D:/projects/HomeProjects/scenes/New Folder/file3.ma";
// execute your script
file -save;

or a for loop would be easy for a sequence

for(int $i=0;$i > 19; $i++)
{
file -type "mayaAscii" -open "D:/projects/HomeProjects/scenes/New Folder/file" + $i + "1.ma";
// execute your script
file -save;
}

Lastly, I suggest you save with a different filename, in case your script totally screws up the scenefiles. Good luck.

progerik
11-17-2003, 02:40 PM
thanks again doogie,
anyone knows how I can tell in a script to process all the files that are in a designated folder ?
cheers

GDC
11-17-2003, 03:34 PM
To get a list of all the files in a folder you would use the getFileList command.