PDA

View Full Version : Set PSD Alpha by MEL


Hamburger
01-29-2012, 11:57 PM
Hi there,

How would one change the following attribute via MEL?

http://i.imgur.com/pk0mt.jpg

The script editor spits out "AEpsdAlphaToUse filename.alpha;"

But I can't see any variables or ways to use the AEpsdAlphaToUse command.

Nyro
01-30-2012, 12:16 AM
No, the AEpsdAlphaToUse ist just the wrapper that is used to issue the actual command from inside the Attribute Editor.

You change the attribute like you change any attribute on a node:

setAttr -type "string" nodeName.alpha "AlphaChannel Name";

Where nodeName is the name of the psdFileTex node and "AlphaChannel Name" is ... well... the name of the alpha channel you want to set.

You will notice, when changing the alpha channel this way, the current/new alpha channel is not reflected in the attribute editor. It is applied to the texture though.

Hamburger
01-30-2012, 12:20 AM
Ah, of course, it works now. Thanks for the help.

CGTalk Moderation
01-30-2012, 12:20 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.