PDA

View Full Version : Career and study advice?

DillonJ93
01-23-2012, 11:50 PM
I'm currently a second semester student at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit, MI. I'm not expecting anyone to point me right to what I should do. However, I'd more than appreciate if anyone could give me some advice.

I'm enrolled in the game art program, but I've been doubting myself in some aspects. In high school I was very oriented in art, calculus, and composition classes. In my personal life, video games became a huge passion of mine ever since I was little. So, I figured I could combine my love of left and right brain thinking and video games into the world of 3D.

So, my problem is that I cannot choose between 3D character animation, 3D character modelling, and 3D environment art. I'm not saying that these three are my only options, I'm more than up for any suggestions to combine my love of left and right brain thinking. To give you a sense of where I am now, I'm just finishing up all my foundation courses while taking an introduction to 3D and an intro 2D traditional animation as well so that I could get a feel for both worlds and I have a strong background in traditional drawing.

So far, from what I've observed on these classes, 3D modelling is extremely calming for me. This might sound like the most narrow-minded thing an artist can say, but I want to work towards a job that is realistically going to make me money. I don't mean a butt-load of cash, otherwise I would've gone to med school. I love art, I just want to be able to support myself and my passion. I originally came into art school really wanting to be a character modeller, but it seems like those jobs are lacking or really hard to get. I'm not saying that last sentence is in any way, shape, or form correct (I hope it's not haha), but I'd like your guys' input before I keep on going and going and... yeah.