PDA

View Full Version : Animating Brush effects?

dell
11-14-2003, 02:53 PM
Hi All

I'm new to flash, as you might be able to tell with the question I am about to ask.

I am trying to animate a line that will draw around some text, just a basic square with some smooth corners. I have no idea apart from using a motion guild layer, and some how using the brush tool, any help will be much appreciated, thank you.

dell
11-17-2003, 12:31 PM
I take it no one has the answer?

gf666
11-18-2003, 12:12 PM
hey im not such a flash hero but i'd do this: draw the line and then draw a rectangle (or whatever) over the line (in another layer of course and color is same as background).

1st frame: none of the line is visible.
last frame: the whole line is visible.
now create a motion tween

i dunno if this can solve your problem, but good luck!!!

dell
11-20-2003, 08:36 AM
hi cheers

i'm not 100% sure about that, but I'll give it a go thanks, anymore idea's out there?.

gf666
11-20-2003, 09:58 AM
let me hear when you have solved yer problem!!
(now i wanna know what is the best way to do this too!!!)

Ian Jones
11-20-2003, 10:22 AM
I don't know much about it in Flash, but I went to a Discreet Combustion 3 product launch and it is capable of exporting animated *.swf files direct from its brush animation engine!

Pretty nifty feature. That is of course, if you own C3. :)

dell
11-21-2003, 09:01 AM
HI All

Just an update, the last method I used which has been explained by gf666 works fine in the sense that the whole objects appears.

But what I'm trying to achieve is to have a line follow a path, to then form a shape around the text.

1) Text appears

2) A line starts to form around the text, a bit like a snake

3) Both ends of the line meet to form a shape around the text.

Hope the has cleared things up, thank you :-)

Pyoeter
11-30-2003, 04:02 PM
Perhaps this can help you: