PDA

View Full Version : too long grame range


MichaelLevin
12-29-2011, 04:59 PM
Hi!
My question is not about maxscript, but maybe you know some tip..
I want to render each 10 (for instance) frame in some long sequence: "0, 165-365, 1024-2370" and so on. I send the job to deadline.
If i set the frame range directly: "0, 165, 175, 185, ..." - it can't be rendered unfortunately - max failed. I suppose cause of too long range.
Everything is ok if i use deadline monitor script and change the sequence in deadline.
So.. how this can be solved? How can i render some long 'per-frame' sequence anyhow?

DaveWortley
01-01-2012, 11:39 PM
You can use maxscript to write out the frame list for you....

Haven't got max open at the moment so this is just rough cut code, will need checking

thestring = ""
for i = 1 to 150 by 10 do format "%," (i as string) to:thestring
for i = 267 to 1200 by 10 do format "&, " (i as string) to:thestring

RendPickupFrames = thestring

MichaelLevin
01-02-2012, 12:04 AM
David, thank you for the reply,
but the question was not 'how to generate the sequence' - of course it is done using script, the problem is that if this frame range is too long, max failed when start rendering.. don't know why.

DaveWortley
01-03-2012, 12:17 PM
Put
RendPickupFrames
into your maxscript listener and paste what it gives you here.

MichaelLevin
01-04-2012, 07:54 AM
hmm, sounds strange for me, but on another machine max doesn't fail at this scene..
don't know why.. but, nevertheless, another question:

this code works ..

thestring = "" as stringStream
for i = 1 to 150 by 10 do format "%, " (i as string) to:thestring
for i = 2670 to 12000 by 10 do format "%, " (i as string) to:thestring
RendPickupFrames = thestring as string


..and this - doesn't:

thestring = "" as stringStream
for i = 2670 to 12000 by 10 do format "%, " (i as string) to:thestring
RendPickupFrames = thestring as string


it sends a messagebox about not valid frame range (the only differ is the deleted frame list between 1 and 150). Try it..)

The only thing to excuse my previous question is that maybe first time on my machine it fails without throwing this exception..

DaveWortley
01-04-2012, 11:57 AM
Both work for me... the only thing to try is removing the last ", " on the end of your frame list.

DaveWortley
01-04-2012, 12:10 PM
Works:
"0,10,40,50,60,70"
"0,10,40,50,60,70,"

Doesn't work:
"0,10,40,50,60,70, "

That space on the end is probably your issue....

MichaelLevin
01-09-2012, 05:46 PM
Sorry, Dave..
Thank you very much for your replies but now i tried again everything at my work machine and max failed the same way as when i wrote my first post..

i attach the image, it's not a surrealisme)

think it's a some sort of not very good bug for me :)

(ps. max 2009, 2012 (as well), scene is pretty clear (only a box), win xp)

upd. - tried another machine at work (much more powerful), max2012 - everything ok, max2009 - throws an exception (about not valid range), independently of "12000, " or "12000".

CGTalk Moderation
01-09-2012, 05:46 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.