PDA

View Full Version : MGtools 2.5: indispensable toolkit for Maya animators


mgland
12-27-2011, 02:43 PM
Hi~ I hope am not in a wrong board :)

MGtools 2.5 is a toolkit makes maya animator's life much much easier.
There are tons of useful features built-in. And none of them use custom nodes.

Check out this quick features demo, I promiss you may find something you have been looking for:bounce: :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWxwT5DqvpA

Here is the hotfile link of HD version:
http://hotfile.com/dl/138554688/0b44df9/MGtoolsDemo_en_HD.zip.html

MainFeature list:
AnimRescue: Realtime backup your animation without slowing down foeground performance.
Get your animation back after any Maya/Windows/Computer accident,
(except hard disk accident, of course :surprised )
Supports: Maya 8.5~2012
MG-AutoSave: autosave your scene after a certain amount of time.
Almost the same as autosave in Maya 2011.
Support: Maya7.0~2012

Cam2Dviewer: navigates camera view in 2D manner. Pan/zoom/rotate 3D in 2D way.

GE-Plugin: A UI plugin in GraphEditor, does channel filtering, keyValue resetting/Alignning
Curve AutoSmoothing, making BD/Extreme pose,etc

Animation transferring:
MG-animationLibrary: build up your own animation library and reuse it.
CopyPastePro: copy & paste animation & pose between different mayas.
MG-SelectionManaer: transfer animation from one rig to another.

DB-Manager: Build up your own asset information database and reuse them really quick.
The database could be shared, this helps asset guys publish there works and layout artist/animatiors use them quickly.

Snapping tools: lots of types of snapping. Motion snapping helps to deal with issue such as feet sliding.

PathTracker: Draw motion path curve for you. The curve will be stay still and clear even the camera is in motion. No need to playback scenes to make a update.

Selection tools:
MG-selectionSet: build up your own selection set library and reuse it.
MG-Selection Manager: asssistant for quick selection. Transfer selection between rigs.
TypeSelector: select objects base on certain conditions as well as maya types.
Backup & restore selection with scene.

MG-ChannelBox: a channelBox specialized for animators. helps to make keyframe process easier and faster.

Constraint Tools:
Vertex Constraint & UV constraint: constrain object in Model surface.
AnimConstraint: provide extra hierarchy beside a constrant.
Transfer constraint between different scene.
...

MG-Shelf: a floating shelf collector.

Miscellaneous Switch:
viewSwitch: switch viewport config between 2-3 customizable configs.
smoothSwitch: managing polysmooth in your scene.
camSwitch: switch viewport camera. configable.
attribute switch: switch attributes without any popping. such as follow body attribute.

Folder & File shorcut: quicky access to some dir ,as well as programs, files.

Pivot Tool: animating object pivot in animation phase.

Keyframe tool: lots of tools dealing with keyframes.

Make it sticky: make object sticky in viewport ,such as facial panel.
Make sticky view: make a watcher viewport to some part of a charactor.

MGtimer: a timer , convertor in many framerates. it is a calcuator ,too.
MB-MA convertor: converts current maya scene between MB and MA format by force.
Super undo/redo tool: helps you undo or redo some operation really quick.
Reloator tool: you can relocate multiple objects with a sigle tempornary hierarchy.Result in keyframes.
Insert hierarchy tool: inserts unlimited numbers of hierarchies between current selection and its parent hierarchy.
Reference tool: be able to transfer reference information between different maya scenes. sometime it is more straight forward to manage reference via scene selection, by using this tools.
...

If you are interested, visit here (http://mgland.com/works/mgtools/paypalNote_en.html) to know more :thumbsup:
Hope you enjoy it !

EightBit
12-28-2011, 05:27 AM
Sounds great. Link is down at the moment, but I'll check it out tomorrow.
Are you able to copy animations from objects if the animation is in an animation layer? I've not been able to find a tool to accomplish this task.
Thx.

mgland
12-28-2011, 12:06 PM
Sounds great. Link is down at the moment, but I'll check it out tomorrow.
Are you able to copy animations from objects if the animation is in an animation layer? I've not been able to find a tool to accomplish this task.
Thx.

Thanks for reply.
That depands. If you only want to copy animation comes from one single animation layer, there are lots of tools in MGtools to do so(between rigs, between scenes). if you want to copy animation from multiple animation layers in one go, Currently no tool does that. But you can active each single layer and copy their animation one by one to get the same effect.

But I may consider to imporve them to meet your need if you could expain what you want in detail.

EightBit
12-28-2011, 07:40 PM
All I want to do is copy animation between scenes from one object to the same object in a different scene. I've tried Maya's native anim export and some 3rd party tools but none have worked so far. My impression is the third party tools were written because Maya anim/export doesn't work, and now the animation layers have broken the third party tools.
Is there a demo of the current version?
BTW, Malwarebytes blocked your site for some reason...

djx
12-29-2011, 05:07 AM
mgland: Your demo looks very interesting. Obviously a lot of work has gone into this and there are some very useful tools there. I like the way you have put a lot of thought into a compact menu system.

I share EightBit's interest in an animation copying tool that will work with animation layers. Being able to copy from a single layer to another layer is only a half way step. We need a tool that is able to provide all the functionality that exists with your current tool. Animation needs to be able to be copied from one rig to another (or one scene to another). If there are animation layers the tool should simply copy them too. I know this is not an easy task because I have tried and failed to update one of the animation transfer scripts that I already use. I think if you get something working, you may be the first.

David

mgland
12-29-2011, 02:20 PM
To EightBit:
Is there a demo of the current version?
BTW, Malwarebytes blocked your site for some reason...

I post the demo video on the top,here is the youtube link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWxwT5DqvpA
why Malwarebytes blocks my site, this is ridiculous...

To EightBit & djx:
Thanks guys.
I throught there is not much people using animation layer before. (I dont because it cant totally replace what multiply hierarchies can do.) maybe am wrong:P
Still some detail need to be clearfied, such as if the target scene don't have the animation layer of same name, then you wanna pre-create one? ... If I really get down to make my tools support it,there may be more issues. My skype is "mgtools2". If you guys have more ideas/need on MGtools, just let me know.

EightBit
12-29-2011, 02:54 PM
To EightBit & djx:
Thanks guys.
I throught there is not much people using animation layer before. (I dont because it cant totally replace what multiply hierarchies can do.) maybe am wrong:P
After using the animation layers and running into a bunch of problems, I wouldn't recommend it. Functionwise, I'd just like to be able to copy the curves out of the graph editor, store them, and then copy them to a new object in a different scene via the graph editor (or however its setup in the tool) I'm not particularly interested in the animation layer itself at this point.

djx
12-30-2011, 04:47 AM
These days I'm mainly an fx and pipeline td, but the animators I work with do use animation layers, especially when working on top of mocap data. Currently I'm working on a project where I need to copy animation from one rig to another and the animation layers broke the tools that I would normally use. My workaround has been to bake the animation to the base layer and delete the anim layers, which means I can continue to use the existing tools, but as you can probably imagine, this is not an ideal solution (even though it works).

For me, the main use of an animation copy tool is to simply copy animation from one rig to another, so the result on the target is the same as it was on the source, animation layers included and created if needed. There are probably many optional features that might be useful to selectively copy and translate the data, but I think the simple "copy all" would be the most useful.

I did notice this (http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/animation/c/goblin-animation-import-export) on creativeCrash after I posted my last response here. It claims to support animation layers, but I have not had a chance to try it for myself.

David

TheRazorsEdge
12-30-2011, 12:09 PM
Thanks a lot for the heads-up. This looks very cool and extremely useful!
Do you have only the online manual available or does the installation include an offline version?

Cheers!

mgland
12-30-2011, 12:15 PM
Hmm, Using animation layer on top of mocap data makes sense :)
I will spend time making my animation transferring tools support animation layer ASAP.
Thanks for the advices guys.

RedNine
12-30-2011, 01:04 PM
The problem with trying to do any animation copy setups which support Animation Layers is that the backend of animation layers is pretty poor in terms of support. Also the bake is so painfully slow on long complex scenes. I've done a similar pack for copying animation data and poses between setups. I've also done a Snap Transform all which would by-pass the need for bake through frame by frame sampling animdata in world space. One bit of feedback I've have from many animators is that animLayers are great for correcting, but most of the time when you're copying data to other rigs the main reason for doing so is to loose the layers and convert the data back to simple key data.

Red

RedNine
12-30-2011, 05:19 PM
Of course the other thing is if you're copying animation layer data to another rig, how do you deal with any existing anim layers that the destination rig may already have? I guess you could do a pre check and if there are existing layers you don't try and re-construct the source layers, but then that's kind of confusing for the user.

mgland
01-01-2012, 11:46 PM
The problem with trying to do any animation copy setups which support Animation Layers is that the backend of animation layers is pretty poor in terms of support. Also the bake is so painfully slow on long complex scenes. I've done a similar pack for copying animation data and poses between setups. I've also done a Snap Transform all which would by-pass the need for bake through frame by frame sampling animdata in world space. One bit of feedback I've have from many animators is that animLayers are great for correcting, but most of the time when you're copying data to other rigs the main reason for doing so is to loose the layers and convert the data back to simple key data.

Red
This wont be a good way for that... Animator wont like if there are keyframes each frame tick. That makes it impossible to be edited. Am out and can't be with Maya. I will test it once I have a chance and let you guys know if MGtools is ready to kiss animation layer:)

CGTalk Moderation
01-01-2012, 11:46 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.