PDA

View Full Version : Fun With a Pencil -- Am I practicing it right?

AsianBorat
12-21-2011, 09:00 AM
Hi, I'm a beginner (stick-figure level) who has done a few attempts in the past to get into drawing, only to steam out on each one. The most recent of these was on this very book. Partway through however, I realized that I was being very sloppy, so I decided to go back and practice more thoroughly.

Current attempt (http://i.imgur.com/qjfbw.jpg)

This time, I started off by getting the Blook Ball down. Then, I transitioned to copying the examples (making sure to go through each construction step) as best as possible. I decided not to do any original drawings because the ones I did in my last attempt were so sloppy, that I felt I wasn't gaining anything from doing them.

A few of these attempts took me about an hour, as it was challenging to get the lines right. I also had difficulty with a couple of the faces, and had to redo them before I was satisfied.

For now, I have a few questions related to how I'm practicing.

At what pace should I be going through the book as a beginner? Should I be focusing on each page as hard as possible, or should I go a little quicker and just grasp the general concepts? And what do I do about the denser pages (for example, the ones jam-packed with facial emotions [pages 25-27])?

Should I set aside separate exercises to practice my technical skill?? I read through the sticky topics in this forum, and I remember reading that the ability to copy is a fundamental skill. As it stands, my technical skill is sub-par.

How much should I be learning from each individual drawing?