PDA

View Full Version : Animation colleges from a veternan's perspective

Andrewty07
12-15-2011, 06:51 AM
I previously posted another thread but felt I shouldn't focus on one school in the topic. I would like to get a more up to date comparison of the schools in the United States for learning animation. I have already been self taught in 3DS Max then Maya to know basic ideas of modeling, rigging, rendering, etc. The reason why I want to go to school is to hone those skills and I have this lovely G.I. bill to blow along with yellow ribbon programs. So in a nutshell I am a Marine about to get out and focus on education to become a 3d animator, this has been my plan for at least the past 3 years of my military work so I have been stocking up on books and going through online references to learn. That time to move into schools is coming in the next year where I will enroll somewhere in 2013 so there is plenty of time to judge and visit schools.

This information should be very useful to anyone considering an animation school in the time frame I just wanted everyone to know my perspective looks at military benefits as well.

SCHOOL LOCATION DEGREE/OUTCOME EST COST
Ringling__________ Sarasota, FL_______BA Fine Arts/ 4YR____________$140,960.00
AAU____________San Francisco, CA___BA Fine Arts/4YR____________$118,200.00
SCAD___________Savannah,GA_______BA Fine Arts/ 4YR___________$122,040.00
CalArts__________ Valencia, CA_______BA Fine Arts/4 YR___________ $150,736.00
SVA____________ New York,NY______BA Fine Arts/4 YR___________ $118,200.00
USC____________ Los Angeles, CA____BA Fine Arts/4 YR___________$168,684.00
Gnomon_________ Los Angeles, CA____Certificate/3 YR______________ $99,000.00
Animation Mentor____ Online__________Certificate/18 month___________$18,753.00
VFS_____________Vancouver, Canada __Certificate/1 YR_____________$,51,652.50