PDA

View Full Version : where to start for an automated snap to vertex script

cgbeige
12-13-2011, 12:34 AM
I'm looking at making a script that automatically constrains some meshes to the nearest vertex of a ground plane. I know this type of thing is slow to do with MEL/Maya commands but I'm not quite ready for Python API and C++ is out of the question for my newb-ass skills. I'm not looking to have this spelled out for me but I'm completely new to these type of "find nearest point" math scripts so any pointers would be appreciated.

LegoBlock
12-13-2011, 01:30 AM
I would check out the "closestPointOnMesh" node, it's simple to use.

Azrail
12-13-2011, 05:07 PM
If you need to snap exactly to the vertex of the ground plane or whatever you don't need the closestPointOnMesh or some other heavy intersection stuff. You can do it really simple like so:
Pseudo python code, but nesting/indent is important:

objVerts = list of object's vertex positions
grndVerts = list of ground's vertex positions

minDist = 1e12
for objv in objVerts:
targetPos = 0,0,0 - store the closest position here later
for grndv in grndVerts:
dist = distance between objv and grndv
if minDist > dist:
minDist = dist
targetPos = grndv - set to the current ground vertex position
move obj vertex to targetPos

cgbeige
12-13-2011, 05:10 PM
thanks - I'm pretty busy with other stuff so I won't be able to test this for a bit. Am I right in assuming that this type of thing is much faster done with API/plug-in calls than Maya commands?

Azrail
12-13-2011, 05:22 PM