PDA

View Full Version : User Input

CadOp
12-06-2011, 04:50 AM
Hello,

I am having a hard time finding a way to prompt the user to select an object. Ive been using python in Rhino3D for a few months now and it has a set of functions like, getObject("Select Object") ... getInt("Enter Integer")... Does Maya have this? I have seen some references to OpenMaya, the ls function, and prompt. I have used the promptDialog for entering values, but do not see a way to have a user select objects. I have also found mc.draggerContext() which seems pretty cool but doesnt seem to do what I want either. The MObject looked like it was what I wanted but after reading the API it doesnt look like it anymore.

Can someone point me to a reference or help sort out all these for me?

Thanks!

WesHowe
12-06-2011, 06:59 AM
You should look for the promptDialog function.

All the Maya script commands are in the technical documentation section of the Maya help files. There are sections for MEL and for Python. MEL is the original Maya scripting language, it uses a C-like syntax. Python has access, for the most part, to all of the same commands, as well as being able to access the OpenMaya API, which otherwise requires C++.

<* Wes *>

uiron
12-06-2011, 07:19 AM
maya is not really designed to be used that way. even if you emulate something like this, it would not be intuitive to maya users. most commands in maya require selecting everything before command, where selection order matters - e.g., select joints, mesh and say "bind skin".

if you want a more complex workflow, I'd suggest going with UI window, where you can pick nodes into UI, and using "nameField" UI widget, specifically meant to represent a node selection.

Azrail
12-06-2011, 09:34 AM
You can use the scriptCtx, but it's kinda tricky since even that you call it from python you still need to supply the completion command as mel:

import maya.cmds as cmds