PDA

View Full Version : From arch/vis to game/film

phildlight
12-01-2011, 01:48 PM
I've spent a fair amount of time pouring over the threads here and a few other online forums but a lot of the information doesn't really pertain to my specific situation, so I'm hoping I can get some advice from this forum.

I've been a 3d modeler and 3d generalist for the last 13 years in the arch/vis industry. I have an associate degree in drafting which is somewhat irrelevant I guess. When I started in the industry, the typical workflow usually involved being handed some loose sketches of a concept that I would then model, texture, light, compose and render. As technology has progressed, the workflow has changed to where the architects model the buildings in Revit and then hand off the (extremely crappy) model to me for texture, lighting, composing and rendering. The software is starting to make it more and more possible for the architects to manage most of the work without my involvement including texture, lighting and rendering.

My primary interest is modeling and that has been taken away from me for the most part. I still model some entourage pieces where needed but mostly I've become a virtual photographer. While this isn't the worst job on the planet, it's essentially removed all creativity and art from my job. On top of that, the architecture firm I work for doesn't exactly have the best target market or design ability on the planet (not by a long stretch).

I've been an artist since I could hold a pencil and took private art lessons at a very early age. As I've become more entrenched in my 9-5 job and personal life (33yrs old, married with 2 kids) though, it's left no time for painting or drawing much outside of work.