PDA

View Full Version : Computer science student, self taught 3D modeler, where to go from here?

Wolvenmoon
11-28-2011, 08:16 PM
So I'm a computer science major about to graduate with my associate's this summer if my course makes and this fall if I have to wait. While breezing through my associate's degree I managed to learn something useful and got in to Blender 3D.

For the past two years, however, I have had severe muscle injury that has kept me from 3D modeling, programming, writing, any of the things I love to do. I just barely pushed through school. I'm finally getting better and looking around again. I've started poking around at Blender again. They've changed the interface up quite a bit and the new render engine requires a new workflow and I'm a bit put off. Nothing like a pain in one's back radiating down to one's arms and making one's fingers stiff to make learning difficult!

But, I realized I had access to Autodesk's entire lineup of software. Being the computer science student I am (member of acm.org and dreamspark.com) I went and grabbed all I could fit on the 500 gig partition I reserve for art and backups - which means pretty much their entire catalog. ;)

Then I got a recommendation for Sculptris (which I have) and zBrush (which I don't have).

Everything I know I've learned via Internet tutorials, Google and I know each other really well, but the sheer number of choices I now have is completely confusing.

What I am looking for is the program I need to learn to learn a general pattern I can apply to other programs, and I don't have a lot of money to do so. As soon as I can manage character modeling I can get enough in commissions to afford $25/mo in curriculum costs. I can also ask for things for Christmas at the moment.