PDA

View Full Version : Expression for soft/hard edges?

fattkid
11-11-2003, 06:37 PM
I have a poly character that is human and I have duplicated it and remodeled the geometry into that of a dog so I can blend shape between the two. The problem is when he is in the dog shape, he has some very pronounced hard edges. I was wondering if I could attach an expression to the blend shape that would select and set all the edges of the model to soft when it reaches the dog shape, and then return them to thier previous state when set back to zero in the human shape. Something like:
If BlendShape = 0, edges = present state;
else
Blendshape = 1, select all edges and make soft.
I'm pretty new to expressions and I'm trying to learn, and I'm also an intern trying to impress a potential employer, so any help would be much appreciated.

brubin
11-12-2003, 12:59 PM
hi,
i really am no expert when it comes to controlling polys via MEL, because i haven't really worked much with polys, but here's a little something i found recently; it identifies the hard edges in your object.
now what you have to do is find out how to alter edgeHardness. (if you do let me know! ;) ) but since you know how to model a humanoid in such a way that you can morph it into a dog you probably know how you create hard-edges, just start from there and see what maya reports in the scripteditor.

below is a little routine that prints "hardedge <index-of-edge>: "<first-point-of-hardedge>" "second-point-of-hardedge>"

string $component , $edges[] , $buff[] ;
$edges = `polyInfo -ev`;
int $numEdges = `size $edges`;

for ($v = 0 ; $v < $numEdges ; $v++ )
{
// each array-element is a string; check if the string "Hard" is present
// cause only hard edges are interesting here
$component = $edges[$v] ;

$hardFound = `gmatch $component "*Hard*"` ;

if ($hardFound)
{
// each array-element is a string; find the ";" and everything right off it
$component = `match "[^:]*$" $component`;