PDA

View Full Version : Character: Portrait: Teemor

maxmare
11-11-2003, 03:33 AM
Hi all,
Three months ago I started learning Maya and to that purpose I started three different scenes. This was the last scene.

http://www.maxmare.com/max_files/big_files/teemor.jpg

http://www.maxmare.com/max_files/big_files/teemor02.jpg

Hope you like it.

leigh
11-11-2003, 06:33 PM
You know, I saw these three threads you posted this morning just before I went to bed, and was too tired to reply, and I'm quite shocked to come here this evening and find that nobody has replied at all! (By the way, I really liked the cellar image you posted - that skull was awesome... I must look for it once I finish replying here)...

This is actually a really good piece of work - nice lighting, a nice model (although he does look somewhat uncomfortable - perhaps his jaw is a little too far forward and tight), and some nicely done textures too :)

I do think that the skin looks very dry though. Perhaps increasing the specularity/reflection of the skin would help to give it some oiliness in the right places, especially the tip of the nose, forehead and the chin. Also, the areas under peoples eyes tend to be shinier, since the skin there is slightly different, and his lips could do with a dash of moisture. Improving these aspects will also help to soften his skin, since it is looking quite hard and almost stonelike at the moment.

Your bump map looks a teeny bit rough. This roughness might look better once the specularity and reflection issues are solved, but it might also help to make a more hi res bump map, because his skin is looking ever so slightly sand-paperish. You should also add a little more fine detail around the eyes, such as crows feet, in your bump map. Also be sure to enlarge the pores slightly at the tip of the nose ;)