PDA

View Full Version : Still: The cellar

maxmare
11-11-2003, 03:32 AM
Hi all,
Three months ago I started learning Maya and to that purpose I started three different scenes. This was the second one.

http://www.maxmare.com/max_files/big_files/skull.jpg

Hope you like it.

triad
11-11-2003, 03:42 AM
Modeling and texturing on the skull are superb. The candle seems a bit out of place, perhaps it is the color. Overall very nice.

Thekkur
11-11-2003, 08:59 AM
only three months in maya and you can already prduce such a work?!! I suppose you do have a background in other 3d apps?Nonetheless it looks very good!

veto
11-11-2003, 09:45 AM
the skull rocks, but your wax material looks a little bit strange (it's jaggy) and so does the flame.

Chappo
11-11-2003, 10:05 AM
i like it, nice lighting :)
The candle needs some work though.

Any chance to show us a wireframe ?

gf666
11-11-2003, 10:39 AM
ghe ghe i like it a lot!! but does one candle give that much light???

Miau
11-11-2003, 11:30 AM
i like it! maybe a bit darker, and more AA..
did you use Sub Surface Scattering for the wax ?
greetings

maxmare
11-11-2003, 12:36 PM
Hey, thnxs for the C&C.

I started using max to create personal images in January, so really all you have to do is find where the things you are use to are in Maya.

I didn't have a reference for the candle and I did it in one go, so I'll have to come back later with a real one a work out some detail/material.

I agree that a single candle doesn't light that much but this was an exercise in modeling/texturing foremost so I want to show as much as I can. Good point though.

I haven't had time to play around with MR so I used the depth-channel to compose it on top of the diffuse channel as color difference. I sort of like it.

Here are some wip:

http://www.maxmare.com/posts\skull_progress.gif

I really appreciate the comments. Cheers

rrobert
11-11-2003, 01:18 PM