PDA

View Full Version : Help Choosing 3D Classes

Semifiction
11-16-2011, 05:25 PM
I'm a student at Otis in Los Angeles in the Digital Media department. I have taken one Basic 3D class and really want to make that the focus of my degree. Right now I am between three classes for next semester and can only take two of them. There's an Intro to Zbrush class, a 3D Anatomy class and a class called 3D: Topology. I know what the first two classes are, but have no idea what the Topology one is. What kind of things should I be looking to take for a student who's only had 4 months experience with Maya?

informerman
12-08-2011, 01:47 AM
try 3dbuzz dot com he has all kind of classes

Meloncov
12-08-2011, 04:20 PM
try 3dbuzz dot com he has all kind of classes

Err, not was he's asking.

Anyways, any of those classes should be useful. I'd ask around and find out which ones have the best teachers, and go by that.

Ohmanoggin
12-09-2011, 04:18 PM
Q: You ask what the class called "3D: Topology" is about...

A: This would most likley involve modifying models to improve how well they can be textured and animated or to reduce the polygon count (which doesn't mean you have to sacrifice detail).

If you sculpt a character's head from a simple shape like a sphere, you may very well have an interesting design, but when you try to animate the mouth or eyes opening , the geometry may stretch in unpredictable ways. So, artist change the topology, which basically means changing the way the polygons of the mesh are laid out, without effecting the original shape of the object.

This link shows a new product called Topgun, which is handy for doing retopolgy on ZBrush models. I think this sums up topology (or retopology) very well:
http://vimeo.com/7630437

By the way, many artist start their models with a "Base Mesh". This is a basic shape of their intended design that already has the mesh laid out correctly.