PDA

View Full Version : UI for choosing attributes


doctorbob
11-08-2011, 12:57 AM
Hey all,

I have a renderLayer system for maya that i've written (got tired of
the bugs and the stone age ideas behind it), and am in need of a good
way of picking attributes to override.

My ideal solution would be to add an item to the attribute editor
context menu (similar to the built in renderlayers - "create
override"). This seems to be hardcoded (or at least compiled), so
doesn't look do-able.

I currently have a list of attributes that the user can pick, but
ultimately it's a bit of a workflow killer. It's really just a matter
of finding a good UI for this.

Does anyone have any alternative strategies for choosing attributes on nodes?

cheers,
chrisg

NaughtyNathan
11-08-2011, 09:27 AM
no point reinventing the wheel, can't you use the channelBox to select them? or would these be attributes that you couldn't make visible in the channelBox..?

:nathaN

doctorbob
11-08-2011, 11:50 AM
no point reinventing the wheel, can't you use the channelBox to select them? or would these be attributes that you couldn't make visible in the channelBox..?

:nathaN
Hey Nathan,

I'm looking at attributes that aren't normally exposed in the channelbox - otherwise, this would be a good way to go.

cheers,
chrisg

CGTalk Moderation
11-08-2011, 11:50 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.