PDA

View Full Version : XSI > Maya animation


sonictk
11-02-2011, 03:58 AM
Hello everyone!

(I crossposted on XSIBase as well about this issue, because I am desperate for help. -_-")

I am currently using Softimage 2012 SP1 for making game animations. However, I may have to work with Maya users and we're trying to figure out how we can collaborate on assets at the moment.

However, when I test exporting animations via FBX, I noticed a number of issues that I am unable to resolve.

Currently I made a simple test scene to explain my problems:

http://i.imgur.com/YHdFy.jpgp

Starting from the left:
- FK animated bend, animation plotted (baked)
- Animation baked into shape animation
- simple translation animation
- IK animated bend, animation plotted (baked)
- IK animated bend
- FK animated bend

This is how it appears in Maya when importing as FBX:

http://i.imgur.com/pwFuQ.jpg

This is how it appears in Maya when importing as Collada DAE along with the error messages:

http://i.imgur.com/yRF8D.jpg

All animation is lost when importing as DAE.

I used these settings when exporting as FBX from Softimage:

http://i.imgur.com/08UI2.jpg

And I used these settings when importing as FBX into Maya:

http://i.imgur.com/9Pof6.jpg

I am really confused as to why this is happening, if anyone could offer any advice at all I would very much appreciate it.

My test scene for this can be downloaded at: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/47456851/testAnimScene0.scn

skunk184
11-05-2011, 02:20 AM
not sure if this will help you or not

I dont know about xsi or the game industry, but i work alot from maya > max using the fbx export, I guess it would be the same. I geometry cache (point cache, vertex cache) any deforming geometry .. then duplicate the meshes freezing all transforms (zeroing values and pivot to world origin) , apply caches then export.
when i import to max all the animation from the cache get put on a point cache modifier and everything works fine (usually) .. issues i ve had are with objects thats were contrained to mirrored geo or joints but you can solve those by blendshapes or wrapping.

sorry if it that is useless info but hope it helps

Craig

ShaderOp
11-05-2011, 02:31 PM
I am currently using Softimage 2012 SP1 for making game animations. However, I may have to work with Maya users and we're trying to figure out how we can collaborate on assets at the moment.[/url]
What exactly do you need to transfer to Maya? Just the end results in the form of the animated meshes? Or do you need to transfer the animation of the bones and other deformers?

As Crais has already pointed out, things would go a lot smoother if you just transfer the animated geo to Maya using some form of point caching format. I had the best results with [url="http://www.ef9.com/ef9/PO1.5/PointOven_15.html"]PointOven (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/47456851/testAnimScene0.scn) and MDD files, but your mileage may vary.

HTH

sonictk
11-05-2011, 06:33 PM
Hello...

Thank you for the replies so far! Basically it would be great if I could preserve geometry, deformers and their animation. Basically the only problem right now is that somehow in certain cases the geometry is being imported and then converted to nulls in Maya.

I tried activating the point cache option in Softimage when using Crosswalk FBX export and then importing it into Maya, also with the import geometry point cache flag ticked. However, I am still getting the same problem.

I should also note that I get the following error messages on import into Maya regardless of whether I use geometry caching or not.

"The following parent and/or ancestor node(s) is/are not part of the BindPose definition.
bone1_NeutralPose
bone5_NeutralPose
bone7_NeutralPose"

However, I did specify Neutral Poses for all of the animated objects in xsi and I exported while the timeline was on frame 1. I'm not sure if that is correct for this case but that seemed to be the consensus when I googled around.

CGTalk Moderation
11-05-2011, 06:33 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.