PDA

View Full Version : Deleting unused vertex


Cadu84
10-19-2011, 01:20 AM
After making a boolean from a type and a box i end up with a chiseled box. Looking more closely each vertex is doubled by another vertex in the middle of each edge.

http://img854.imageshack.us/img854/6858/unled1xyx.jpg

When i try to chamfer the upper edge things go wrong.

The button to delete unused vertex its not working. Any help??

Dare-o
10-19-2011, 06:29 AM
Can't you select the vertices and just press the delete key?

Cadu84
10-19-2011, 01:21 PM
If was only some vertex there were no trouble, but all the vertex are doubled. This means tons of repetitive work. This is normal, after the boolean and all?

My problem with those unwanted vertex is that when i try to chamfer those edges everything goes messy. There is any way of removing vertex that is not connected to corners of edges?

Dare-o
10-19-2011, 06:18 PM
Can you show a picture of what you mean? I have a rough idea of how it would get messy but you could be having a different problem. Usually when I boolean objects in maya I get unwanted vertices but all I do is select all the unwanted verts in 1 selection and just press delete and everything is cleaned up.

Cadu84
10-19-2011, 07:11 PM
Sure.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/338/62281253.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/196/62642239.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/207/89193641.jpg/

The image sequence show a closeup with the left edges without the doubled vertex and the right ones with those extra vertex.

I have selected all the edges and use chamfer. The ones without the extra vertex are just like a chamfered edge should look like. In the right those with the extra vertex looks strange after the chamfer.

Dare-o
10-19-2011, 10:17 PM
Alright, If you can't delete the vertices, try snapingp/moving them onto the verts you want to keep then merge the 2 together. If that doesn't work, try selecting every vertex on the geometry, then hit the delete key, if it's similar to maya, it should delete the verts not connected to a vertical edge.

Cadu84
10-21-2011, 12:02 AM
I could weld or target weld them but to do this i would have to select each vertex. I'm searching a easier way, something that will not consume hours of repetitive work. Even if there is a better way of doing this boolean/chiseled letter on a box.

Im using 3ds max so when i select and delete those unwanted vertex they are deleted along with the edge holding them. I think its because they are conected in the middle of the edge. To remove them i use backspace+ctrl.

Dare-o
10-21-2011, 12:21 AM
Could I take a look at the model? If you upload it as an .obj i'll see what i can do.

Cadu84
10-21-2011, 01:25 AM
Thanks Dare-O, there the link:

https://www.wetransfer.com/dl/46irhpPB/636c965cfb03ba265d09276d528bc2033b0a40d2cb02a122c37724027b06a5613ff3212316f8f9e

Looking this file again in Max i see a lot of edges that weren't there before.

Dare-o
10-21-2011, 05:01 AM
ah yeah that didn't work like i thought it would, it was all triangulated when imported. I don't really know what else there is, i guess the tedious road of selecting the verts?

CGTalk Moderation
10-21-2011, 05:01 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.