PDA

View Full Version : Compiling Plugin?


PrayingMantis
10-18-2011, 10:23 AM
Sorry for the dumb question, I don't understand anything in programming but let me tell you my problem.

I have a plug in and .cpp and .h file, can I recompile the plug in for my current version with these files?

sciLoop
10-18-2011, 10:35 AM
For compiling, you need visual studio. There`s a free version. Some time ago, this could only compile for x32. I think that hasn`t changed. So, if you want to compile for x64, you need to buy a commercial version...

edit:
Actually, there must be tons of threads about that, check the search...

PrayingMantis
10-18-2011, 10:52 AM
Thank you,

I did search but I was looking for Cpp, I was not sure it was for compiling.

And what I thought was that I could compile the plug in for my current maya version, but with what you said it is not dependent from the compiler but from the file.
So if I compile it once again I'll still have my issue.

sciLoop
10-18-2011, 12:56 PM
Compiling plugins for Maya is strongly dependent on visual studio when your OS is windows.
A lot of HowTos are floating around. I remember one is on creativeCrash.
If you want to compile for your Maya, you need the libs and headers
( \Autodesk\Maya2012\lib, \Autodesk\Maya2012\include ).


http://www.docstoc.com/docs/20856994/How-to-prepare-Visual-Studio-2005-for-Maya-C
http://www.creativecrash.com/forums/api/topics/maya-api-and-visual-c-2005-express
http://www.hajimenakamura.com/hajime/cg/mll/startMll.shtml

PrayingMantis
10-20-2011, 12:55 PM
Thanks for the links but it doesn't help me a lot.

Maybe I was not clear enough but I don't have any coding knowledge.
I know you have to put if, and else and period, that's my ubber skillz.


But I do have a .cpp and .h file, and I don't know how to use them.
These file were not written by me, they were included in a book, hyper realistic creature creation from autodesk.

I've installed visual studio and configure it for maya api, at least I think that's what I did.

What I just want to do, is not to write plug in or anything else, but rebuild the plug in for maya 2011 and 2012.

It seems to be possible from what I read in the documentation because they say code should not change with new version.


All I have to do, I think, is rebuild this plug in to make it compatible with my current maya version.
I've opened a .sln provided by autodesk and I thought I was really smart by replacing their .cpp by the one I have. Then click build and tada...
But, no, it doesn't work.

And like I said my knowledge is 0 about that.
That's the first time I open Visual Studio of my life (maybe I should add that in my resume now ;))

So I'm begging a pure soul to help me to just push button like a bot to recompile this plug in.
I even accept insult and mockery.

Thank you.

sciLoop
10-20-2011, 01:03 PM
Maybe I was not clear enough but I don't have any coding knowledge.

I realized that..thats why I gave you links and hoped you would get enough knowledge to compile them.
Actually its not too difficult.

Don`t know what the book publisher might say to that, but if you give me the files, I could compile the plugin for you.


edit:
ah, didn`t read the last lines of your post..
So, do you have the free version of visual studio?

zoharl
10-23-2011, 11:36 PM
If you configured a VS environment that can compile a plugin from the devkit, for example helloCmd, and you can run it with no problems, then first if you use win7 64bits why not help me on the way:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=89&t=1015028

And second as your book says, there shouldn't be much difference in compiling their source code using the same helloCmd project. Please be specific about the problem and we will try to help you.

CGTalk Moderation
10-23-2011, 11:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.