PDA

View Full Version : Script to connect all mia_materials in a Scene with Colorbuffers

B3liar
10-14-2011, 09:29 AM
Hello everyone,

yesterday i looked for scripts wich can create 21 Custom Color Buffers, name them (add_result, refl_level, refr_level...) and connect them to WriteToColor Nodes.

Because i didn't find any i tried it on my own. I'm not a coder and don't have any experiences with mel, but i could realize this first step by recording/and copying the commands.

The next and maybe more difficult step would be, to connect all Materials in the scene (type Mia_material_x_passes) or at least named like this "Mia_material" with the right colorbuffers.

So that i can use a lot of Mia_Material_x_passes in my scene, after that scan the entire scene for them and connect for example "indirect_raw" to the colorbuffer "Indirect_raw_buffer" for all of them.

The recorded command is:
connectAttr -f mia_material_x_passes3.indirect_raw indirect_raw_buffer.color;
connectAttr -f mia_material_x_passes3.indirect_raw indirect_raw_buffer.evaluationPassThrough;

But of course it only works for the material named "mia_material_x_passes3".

And that is what i'm trying to achieve.

select -r "mia_material*";
string $miaNode[] = `ls -selection`;

connectAttr -f $miaNode.indirect_raw indirect_raw_buffer.color;
connectAttr -f $miaNode_x_passes3.indirect_raw indirect_raw_buffer.evaluationPassThrough;

Of course it's not that easy :-/
Today i found a great (closed) thread with the same topic but with an different approach.
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=89&t=873131&page=1&pp=15

I think my problem could be, that i only have this one variable ($miaNode) right now??

I would be really happy, if you can show me how to solve this problem.

Thank you!
Best wishes
Matthias

procanic
10-14-2011, 12:04 PM
try this :

string $miaNode[] = `ls -type "mia_material_x_passes"`;
for ($node in $miaNode)
{
connectAttr -f ($node + ".indirect_raw") indirect_raw_buffer.color;