PDA

View Full Version : Any suggestions about the MFA for Animation?

HarrisWu
10-08-2011, 08:47 AM
Hey everyone, I'm a freshman in CGTalk, and please do me a favor about the schools selection, very thanks for your help.

I'm a student in China, and my major is digital art,something like the after effects for film. But for myself, I like animation better, and really want to do animation in the future. And as you know, China's education about this field is not very good, so I'm looking for a university or college which offer a graduate program.

For myself, I'm don't have many 2D traditional art class in school, so my drawing is not very good, also about the design and storyboarding. But I learn some skills about maya, I can do modeling, texturing, lighting, rigging, animation, dynamics and scripting. And I think these part skills I'm OK, maybe not good enough, but not bad. I also like to write stories about animation.

This is my fourth year, and I'm an exchange student in Cogswell now, studying 3D animation. I want to apply so that I can go to a school which offers a MFA next year. I'm interested in RIT, SCAD and of course, USC and UCLA. But as you know, some of the schools, like USC, CalArts requires a high TOFEL score for the foreigners like me. And it is difficult for me cause of my poor english. As I know now, RIT, SCAD, NYU, UCLA, USC, SVA, they are all good choose, but I'm not confidence about it cause I'm not good at 2D traditional art, maybe it's difficult for me to change my major into Animation.

I also heard about DePaul and AAU, but I found few information about DePaul, and heard some bad comments about AAU.

So, could you give me some suggestions about the school selection? Any other school which offers a MFA do you think is good? I really need your help, very appreciate for your reply.

danielec
10-12-2011, 08:02 AM