PDA

View Full Version : Submission Query

Rivenis
10-04-2011, 02:04 PM
I recently posted this (http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g63/205063/205063_1317686012_medium.jpg) piece to the 2d gallery and it was rejected...

Are you guys serious? I know i'm no master artist but i'm damn sure the level of this piece is on par with the current standards of the gallery.
Don't take my statement to mean that i'm not open to criticism, but i'd just like an explanation because it makes absolutely no sense to me why this piece would be rejected. Any clarification would be much appreciated.

Kirt
10-04-2011, 06:51 PM
I'm not involved with the gallery validation in any way. But I'll offer my critique of the image if it'll help.

My initial thought of the image was that as a concept, it has merit. There is a theme and kind of a story going on here that is intriguing. I like the nightmare quality of the image, but it also seems like a rough or unfinished work. The texture or brush work of the image seems hurried and unrefined. More time could be spent to refine these brush strokes into something more polished and stylized.

There isn't much of a focus to the piece which leads the eye to wandering all over the image. Sometimes that is intended but I think this image could be improved by focusing on the falling character and less emphasis placed on the other elements in the image. Although, you have used composition pretty well to lead the viewer's eye down the center towards the "faller", better use of color could be used to make the viewer focus on this character.