PDA

View Full Version : Help an engineer!

Elendorial
10-01-2011, 09:09 PM
Hi!

I'm an undergraduate of computer engineering and and hoping to start a career in computer graphics when I graduate. The CG area is vast and from all I've seen I would like to work with the VFX field. I think that VFX is closer to my field of studies since it does include math and programming which I'm more familiar with, than let's say animation. After I graduate I'm thinking of pursuing a master deggree in VFX in bournemouth or other universities, or maybe get into VFS or Gnomon if I earn the money required. However until then I would like to work on my own to gain some experience. Do you have any suggestions? I'm thinking of a subscription in Digital Tutors. Will that help? Is there anything else online other than DT that will help me get in VFX?

Thanks and take care

Syndicate
10-24-2011, 02:45 AM
Hi Elendorial,

You should try Gnomon DVD's. Use DT for basics, but leave the advanced stuff to Gnomon material.
Sounds like what you want to do is "technical" fields.

If you enjoy math/scripting you can join R&D teams, Tools programming, technical rigging, shader programming etc.

A VFX artist is more of less a generalist that can put many things together.

Think of a VFX Artist as an architect, but a Technical Artist is like an Engineer.
VFX artists have a bias towards aesthetics, Technical Artists have a bias towards problem solving.

Elendorial
10-24-2011, 07:49 AM
Thanks Syndicate! Do you think schools like VFS, Lost Boys are suitable for me? I will definitely start with DT and Gnomon, I'm just searching for the next step.

MrPositive
10-24-2011, 08:06 PM