PDA

View Full Version : How to import "3D object or scene with its material" into Nuke?


cnjnuke
09-28-2011, 11:42 AM
Hello everyone!

I'm just having a big trouble with importing 3D objects made in 'Maya' or '3DsMax' into Nuke.. or simply the scenes made by 'Vue' as well.

After I've exported my objects/scenes as *.FBX files, the objects themselves are being imported succesfully by a 'ReadGeo node' in my Nuke project.
And by the same way using a 'Light node', I can import the light too.

But the problem is importing the materials... I don't know how to. So, it's always gray in the 'Wiever' and black after rendered.

I need some help with this if anyone has been into this before or had useful information or an idea...

Thanks so much beforehand..

kyrgr
09-28-2011, 06:00 PM
Nuke asigns material either by 3dshader as apply material
and project or with 3dmodify- uv project. Maybe because it's
meant to project footage on geo. You have to bake somehow
your texture to an image and apply material-it does not
recognise it otherwise.

cgbeige
10-01-2011, 03:47 PM
paste this into Nuke and it will show you how the texture hooks up to the geo

set cut_paste_input [stack 0]
version 6.3 v4
Read {
inputs 0
file /Volumes/HOME_RAID/WORK/turbosquid_models/magazineplaceholder/sourceimages/LEFTPAGE_blank.tif
format "1024 1024 0 0 1024 1024 1 square_1K"
origset true
version 6
name Read12
selected true
xpos -115
ypos -166
}
ReadGeo2 {
file /Volumes/HOME_RAID/WORK/turbosquid_models/magazineplaceholder/data/magnewuvs_fornukeleft.obj
version 2
rot_order XYZ
name ReadGeo2
selected true
xpos -115
ypos -76
}
push 0
Scene {
inputs 2
name Maya_Scene
selected true
xpos -213
ypos 22
}
push $cut_paste_input
Camera {
selectable false
rot_order XYZ
translate {-2.461821359 11.55015128 -0.8790629823}
rotate {-74.92186539 -92.85543115 5.08888749e-14}
focal 37.88
haperture 23.999952
vaperture 23.999952
name Camera
label persp_Con
selected true
xpos -12
ypos 31
}

beaker
10-04-2011, 04:30 AM
Most people project fully lit beauty renders or render passes back onto the rough geometry.

Nuke is meant for quick and dirty 3d work for matte painting, set extensions, etc... So the 3d system doesn't have the ability to fully replicate the shaders in your 3d app. It only has basic shaders like phong. Without a shader your essentially getting the equivalent of a constant shader.

CGTalk Moderation
10-04-2011, 04:30 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.