PDA

View Full Version : Node based compositing?


TheVFXGuy
09-23-2011, 09:30 AM
I have never actually played around with Nuke, as I don't own it. I know though from what I've seen that it is a node-based compositing application. I've never really had much experience with node-based compositing tools before, apart from Toxik. Would I really need to learn how to do node composite really well before I got Nuke, or could I just learn as I go along? :thumbsup:

pingking
09-23-2011, 10:41 AM
no better way to learn it in the product you like/own (there is a free PLE version of nuke)

if got used to nodes its quiet simple to jump between apps, the concept stays the same

TheVFXGuy
09-24-2011, 12:10 PM
Ok, thanks. Never knew there was a free version! :)

cgbeige
09-26-2011, 01:55 AM
I wrote an explanation of the difference between nodal and layered workflows:

http://arstechnica.com/apple/guides/2010/09/an-intro-to-3d-on-the-mac-part-ii-animation-and-rendering.ars/3

scroll down to where it says "Advanced options: Let's Get Nodal and Procedural"

It's about 3D apps but the same explanation applies for nodal compositors.

CGTalk Moderation
09-26-2011, 01:55 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.