PDA

View Full Version : Requesting input on a learning plan

eegee
09-13-2011, 07:04 PM
I'm a beginning artist that is focusing on basic drawing and rendering technique right now. I'm in my early 40's, so I'm a late starter, but I am investing the time like a serious hobby or fitness plan - at least 1 hour/day.

I've read a many of the beginner threads here, as well as looked at other's sketchbook threads for inspiration. The one thing I really want to do is invest enough time into this to determine if I really can reach a skill level that will satisfy my need to be creative, or if I should just relegate myself to forever being a fan.

The issue is that I seem to have a bit of stage fright wtih my sketchbook. I think it has to do with starting out later in life, and having such a large set of areas to focus on. Some things I have done to keep myself focused is 1) Deciding to only use traditional tools right now in the beginning, 2) Deciding to avoid color and only do grayscale and 3) Deciding to just use graphite. I was hoping by narrowing my scope, I'd be filling sketchbooks, but that still isnt the case.

I tend to like a lot of artwork, but if I had to choose some specific goals, I'd like to be able to 1) Render photorealistic portraits, 2) Draw pinups and 3) Have a foundation to move into digital painting.

All this being said, I just dont know what to put on the paper. I tend to spend my hour looking for references, inspiration, or reading up on techniques. But I think the fact that I'm starting out later in life coupled with the huge group of things I need to learn makes me want to have a plan. Should I just read Loomis and do the exercises? What is a good way to learn value? Should I draw life, references or both? Should I try all of those at the same time? And, what should my expectations be at this time if I do anything of those?