PDA

View Full Version : Best way to make trees

newbefactor
09-09-2011, 04:48 PM
Hi there was wondering if someone could help me. I'm pretty new to 3ds max and i wanted to make a bunch of realistic trees. If i use the trees that are already in max it slows max right down for some reason so i think having a bunch of them is going to be out of the question (looking to make 15-20 trees)
If anyone has any better idea's I'd be so grateful
Thanks in advance

MisterS
09-09-2011, 08:15 PM
You can add textures to the AEC trees in max and you can get pretty good results. What spec is your PC - perhaps that's the problem.

plastic
09-09-2011, 08:19 PM
When you copy tree meshes, make sure that you don't copy but instance them. This will conserve memory when rendering.
For better viewport performance, switch the view mode to box, in the object properties.
If you're serious about tree rendering, get the free Itoo Forest plugin, this is the way to go for massive vegetation rendering.

newbefactor
09-09-2011, 09:21 PM
system spec wise i have 4gb ram with dual core 2.00ghz processor. Planing to upgrade to 8gb ram by end of year, and if possible might do a processor upgrade or just get new laptop next year.

thanks plastic gonna download the plugin you said.

Diffus3d
09-10-2011, 01:52 AM
Although the web site is truly horrendous, and the GUI for the program is 15 years ago, Onyx Tree remains my favorite for trees. A bit spendy but huge amounts of control and customization. I've heard good things about Vue as well, though I've never had occasion to try it.

Ahmad2007
09-10-2011, 07:42 AM
Although the web site is truly horrendous, and the GUI for the program is 15 years ago, Onyx Tree remains my favorite for trees. A bit spendy but huge amounts of control and customization. I've heard good things about Vue as well, though I've never had occasion to try it.

yeah Vue tree it's really cool you can control's how many polygon in tree mesh you need