PDA

View Full Version : gnomon visual school question

lanart
09-03-2011, 10:13 PM
Hi,

i'm an international student in the us. I had a master degree in design. but i realized when i graduated, i know a little bit of everything but master none. At school, i used to spend so much time on something that only meets the degree requirement like thesis project research, paper, elective courses etc. It seems that a master degree in design is more advanced level but we still need the technical stuff to make a living. A lot of students find it hard to get a job except only a few were good because of their background and they know what they were doing. At school, i did take a lot of different classes to experiment what I want to do for my thesis project and future. i took basic 3d intro modeling. Due to my art background, my teacher didn't recommend me to do 3d. After graduation, i sent out tons of resumes but no one responded. Even if i found an intern, they couldn't offer me full-time but my optional practical training was denied. Is it possible to find a paid fulltime job immediately? no. One of my weaknesses is portfolio. It's not specialized and like an assignment to class not professional. I know degree means nothing without a decent portfolio. What should I do to really have some experiences in the industry? Should I go back to school? I know schools can't change my situation anymore but what about gnomon school like that? They're specialized, intense and industry-oriented.I heard a lot of good stuff about them and students' work looks amazing. i'm interested but i have some concerns before taking this big step because of another huge investment of time, money and energy.