PDA

View Full Version : 8 hex floats in fwrite?

SuperRune
11-04-2003, 10:22 AM
Hi,

I am a beginner Mel-scripter, and I am trying to export some mesh animations to another file format. When I write floats or vectors using fwrite, I get 16 digit hex numbers instead of 8 hex (which I was expecting).

Looking through the web, and using a little hex->float converter I have, it seems like the most common format for floats are 8 hex (like this: 40A66666). Is there a reason why Maya does 16 hex? Can I output 8 hex instead?

Thanks,
Rune

mhovland
11-04-2003, 12:33 PM
I have never seen Maya output floats in Hex before. Ever. And I use fprint all the time.

Could you post the code you used to output Hex? Maybe you have an option or flag set somewhere that I have never seen or used.

SuperRune
11-04-2003, 01:22 PM
Yup, but I am not using fprint (that's for ASCII output), I am using the binary fwrite :)

The code is really simple, try this little script:

// get a float number
float $testNum = 1.5;

$fileName = ( `internalVar -userWorkspaceDir` + "floatTest.bin" );
$fileId=`fopen $fileName "w"`;

fwrite $fileId $testNum;
fclose $fileId;

Now when you open the resulting file in a hex-capable editor (like Ultraedit), you will see a sixteen-digit hex number and not an eight-digit one (00 00 00 00 00 00 F8 3F as opposed to 00 00 F8 3F (or 00 00 C0 3F as my hex calculator says)).

Rune

mhovland
11-04-2003, 02:07 PM
Whoops! My fault, I read the message and saw fprint, not fwrite. Sorry I can't help you with that.:shrug:

brubin
11-10-2003, 08:42 PM
hi,
i don't know if this really helps:
maya uses certain numeric precision defaults; i know you can query and set them somehow, or maybe not, unfortunately it escapes me where i read about it, and i've been searching the new dumbf*%ck maya5 documentation but i can't find my way around as i used to anymore, sorry!