PDA

View Full Version : How often do studios use the basic maya shaders?

MBaker
08-26-2011, 04:57 AM
Hi, I'm a student focusing on lighting and shading and was hoping to get some insight as to what the current trend is in terms of shaders so I know what to practice with.

Basically I was hoping to get a good perspective of what shaders animation and VFX studios tend to use for materials such as the blinn, lambert, and phong shaders, or if they lean towards using the more advance mental ray or vray shaders such as the mia_material_x.

Would any one mind helping me out?

Thanks in advance,
-matt

lostparanoia
08-26-2011, 08:12 AM
I think most people, me included, mostly use the mia_material_x in mental ray. the surface shader and lambert are also very useful when setting up layers and passes though. if you want to learn mental ray, you should definately focus on the mental ray shaders.
you can build your shading networks with the maya software shaders too ofc, but if you want somewhat physically correct shading, you need to really know what your doing. The mia_material_x will also in most cases render faster than building the equivalent shader from scratch with software shaders.

MBaker
08-27-2011, 05:35 AM
Hey thanks for the reply. I've used the mia_material_x shader before just I wasn't sure if that's what studios tend to use but now I have a bit of perspective of what to expect. It's a wonderful shader and easy to use much like 3dsmax's arch and design material.

once again thanks for the info

-matt

Bitter
08-27-2011, 07:22 AM
I still see some smaller studios using those, makes me cringe. (Then they complain. . .and don't know why it's so hard to get the right look, or render faster. So they blame the software.)

Generally it's: mia_material, sss_passes, mip_shaders, car_paint, vray material(s), or materials in other packages that approximate the aforementioned materials.