PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a newbie student

Saiyora-Saga
08-25-2011, 02:08 PM
I currently attend the Academy of Art University, but due to some problems I've been having out of the school, I'm very much considering transferring schools.

I've never done this before, and I'm not sure what to expect, or if I should throw expectations out the window.

I work part-time just to make ends meet with groceries, rent, and other small things. I don't live with my parents, but rather with my soon to be husband.

But I've been looking around at a few different schools which seems significantly cheaper in the long run then AAU. (I'm in my second year and at least 20K in debt)

What I'm looking for:
A school to teach me how to model and animate 3d characters.
What My Goal Is:
To work as a character designer/3d animator for video games.

I've looked into Vancouver so far, and found it close to what I'm looking for. I'm just hoping that they'll be able to take Financial Aid.

I've also looked at AnimSchool but I believe its far from what I'm looking for. It's more Pixar related from what I've seen.

Then theres iAnimate who also seems Pixar related.

With these schools out there, theres also the option of going to a local community college to work in there animation program. But I have a lingering fear that they wont teach me what I want.

I also have a fear that a lot of these schools are not going to teach me what I need for the industry, ill graduate and have no job... :curious:

Any recommendations/Advice out there? Would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

matmonkfish
08-25-2011, 04:56 PM
hi Saiyora-Saga

in terms of the animation schools you mention... i dont think you should overlook them. they do aim at the feature film market, but in general they just teach proper animation with all the proper principles, including body mechanics which can be used in games too.

agktran3d
08-26-2011, 03:55 AM
Hey Saiyora-Saga!