PDA

View Full Version : ? 3DS Max 5 Edgeloop ?

Agent 47
11-03-2003, 07:25 PM
As a hopeful wannabe newbie, I'm trying to follow a tutorial (http://www.secondreality.ch/tutorials/modelling/head.html).

I'm stuck on a part of the tut that asks that you perform an edgeloop. How is that done in Max 5? :shrug:

I have searched far and wide (including this site's forums) and have come up with a ton of information on what it is, but nobody explains HOW to perform this in Max 5.

I even foud one post by a fellow who was brazen enough to say it can be done in Max 5, but he neglected to state how.

So any information on how to perform an edge loop in Max 5 would be greatly appreciated.

And yes, even "I'm-so-much-better-than-you-because-I-know-how-to-do-this-and-you-don't" or "My-ego-is-bigger-than-your-driveway" attitudes are welcome... if you yield results. :cool:

Edit___
In a nutshell: How do you perform an edgeloop in 3D Studio Max v.5?

Hamilcar
11-03-2003, 08:06 PM
Hi,
Good question by the way:) My question is why are there so many dam ways to do things in 3d:surprised its one of those cases where your overwhelmed with choice. The great thing is when something doesn't work you can always do it a different way. Anyway to answer your question follow these steps:

Simple example:
1) create a cube
2) convert to editable poly
3) enter edge mode
4) select one edge
5) in the selection rollout click Ring
6) in the edit edges rollout click connect
7) pat yourself on the back you just made an edge loop in max

Hints: try to use the Ring, Loop, Shrink, and Grow buttons as your
modeling to speed up the selection of edges.

I hope this helps you out:)

Agent 47
11-03-2003, 08:17 PM
When I get home, I'll give this a shot. Thanks so much for the wonderful help! You are a star-quality individual.

:beer:

Hamilcar
11-03-2003, 08:27 PM
:beer:

Hydra
11-03-2003, 08:28 PM