PDA

View Full Version : I just enrolled to AM...i love animation but...

Deuced
08-19-2011, 11:09 AM
Hi everyone :p

Well,i'll try to explain my current situation and i hope to receive some good advice...i'm a little bit dubious.

I love animation,i have very little experience and no real formal training,so few weeks ago i decided to enroll to Animation Mentor to improve my character animation skills.I know that the industry is shrinking and many cool places are in the US...but actually i think that it will be very tough to get a visa (i live in Europe),i don't even have a bachelor degree...so after the school i'll have few alternatives where i can hope to work (UK,Singapore,maybe Australia or New Zealand).Also i see that the industry is shrinking and the character animation is really competitive these days...many good artist are unemployed.

So i'm asking...what would you do if you were me?Join AM and hope to become a better artist?Give up Character Animation and study something else (rigging,modelling etc)?

I'm anxious about my future as a character animation...

Sorry for my bad english :p

agktran3d
08-19-2011, 07:07 PM
There are more modellers and riggers out there, animators are the most highly sought after CG artists in the industry purely because the talent of bringing something to life is more appealing to a production and harder to learn then modelling and rigging up characters. If you were going down that road you probably are going to end up doing tv commercial for a few years before breaking into feature work. That's why find a real decent school that has the reputation will probably give you that break. At the end of the day you should really think about how competitive the industry is if your a passionate and really talented person, your work will always stand out apart from every other artist.

JordanBornholdt
08-19-2011, 09:47 PM
I love animation