PDA

View Full Version : vray motionblur and animated displacement


comfortk
08-11-2011, 05:29 PM
I was trying to get a painterly effect straight out of maya by attaching an animated displacement to a piece of geo and turning on motionblur. But it seems that vray does not motionblur animated displacement. Despite each sequential frame being a different shape (due to the animated displacement) when I turn on motionblur, vray neglects to compute the displacement.

has anyone encountered this and/or found a workaround?

newguy4life
08-11-2011, 09:57 PM
In fact I'm trying to do the same thing and posted just after you without realizing it, but I'm trying to do it with Mental Ray. One thing that was working a bit was if I went to modify>convert>convert displacement to polygons with history. That allowed me to animate the fractal map and see the displacement, and the motion blur worked with it, so if your mesh is high rez enough, that would probably work.

CGTalk Moderation
08-11-2011, 09:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.